This article contains the following topics (click on them to jump to the corresponding place):
- Changes to already published campaigns
- Changes to a sequence
- Changes to a timer
- Adding event elements to a sequence
- Moving stopped contacts further on
Changes to already published campaigns
Often you want to edit your campaign after it has been published. Whether adding or removing elements, changing timers or settings, or making other adjustments - it's all no problem, as long as you keep a few little things in mind.
You have to republish the campaign so that all changes are applied.
A window will then appear in which you will be shown the changes once again. Here you will also be asked what should happen to the contacts who have already gone through the sequence to the end. Should they be moved on and thus receive the new emails? If not, the changes will then only affect new contacts.
Changes to a sequence
Let's assume you have built a campaign consisting of a form, confirmation and a sequence. You have published this campaign and some contacts have already been established. Once the contacts have gone through the last element, they stop, as there is no way to continue.
Now you add another sequence later. As soon as you publish the campaign again, you can decide whether the stopped contacts should go into the new sequence or not.
Changes to a timer
Remember: All changes only apply to contacts that are new to the changed element.
For example, you set a timer in a sequence. This timer determines that the next email will be sent at 10am. Contacts that now come to the element will wait until 10am before the next action takes place.
Now you make changes to the time and set the timer, for example, to 9am. After you have saved and published the changes, all new contacts will receive the next email at 9am. However, contacts that have already waited for the element will not receive the next email until 10am.
Note: You can also move all contacts that were already on the timer before/during the change directly to the next element (see below under "Move on manually").
Attention : If you delete a timer that has contacts on it, the contacts are also deleted from the campaign!
Adding event elements to a sequence
The same applies here: all changes only apply to contacts that are new to the changed element. If you subsequently add an event element to a sequence, e.g. "Has clicked on email", the link clicked on will only be monitored for the contacts that come into the sequence after the change.
For example, you have a sequence of 5 emails, each with a link. The first of your contacts is already in the sequence and has received the first two emails. Now add the event element "Has clicked on the link" to the sequence because you want to react to the event separately. Whether the link was clicked on or not is not tracked for the contacts that are already in the sequence! Only new contacts will be factored in here.
Moving stopped contacts further on
Once you've made your changes, click on "Publish". Now you can determine for whom the changes will be valid:
- For all contacts - including those who have already gone through the campaign? Then select "Move contacts further on".
- Only for new contacts? Then select "Do not move on"
Attention: Only stopped contacts are affected by being moved on, i.e. contacts that went through the campaign to the (old) end and did not get any further. (In status mode, this is the red circle with the white square).
Being moved on does not apply to dropouts, i.e. contacts who have either not completed the DOI process or have reached the end of a date timer. (In status mode, this is the red circle with the white horizontal line).
Moving contacts on manually
If, for example, you accidentally clicked on "Do not move on" when publishing or decide at a later time that the old contacts should move on after all, you can also trigger this manually.
- To do this, first click on "Status mode" in your campaign (top right-hand corner, next to the "Publish" button).
- If you have stopped contacts on an element (and more have been subsequently added to this element), click on the dark blue icon with the people and the two arrows ("Move contacts").
- Determine whether all stopped and/or all final terminated contracts should be moved on by setting the checkmarks accordingly.
- Click on the green "Move contacts now" button.
By the way, you can also use this function for waiting contacts. For example, if you have made changes to a timer, you can manually move the contacts that were already on the timer in the waiting position.
This function doesn't exist for conditions, email confirmation and the action element sequence. However, you can move contacts on again in a sequence or move the contacts out of the sequence if they are on the last element in the sequence.
Please note: all stopped contacts that are on the element are always moved on. It's not possible to select, e.g. "only those from today".